Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Teachers College of Reading and Writing Project January 30, 2009

I have a dream. 

I dream of attending seminars at Teachers College of Reading and Writing Columbia University.

I dream of learning directly from Lucy Calkins,Kathy Collins, Carl Anderson, Ralph Fletcher   and being surrounded by people as excited about learning about the teaching of reading and writing as I am.  I won’t apologize for being dorky, it’s just who I am. I LOVE learning, education, teaching, children, and everything that goes into it.  home_reading-and-writing

Having decided that it is worth the time and money to be able to attend, I turn in my application to learn about Literacy Coaching through their Spring Institute. It was over my school’s Spring Break so it wouldn’t involve missing any days from school. Don’t know quite  what that will mean for my own children, but know it will be good for me and the district.  

So not excited to already have a personal rejection letter from Lucy Calkins (maybe she doesn’t know I sat next to year in the front row of her NCTE presentation and helped pass out her papers?) explaining that although the application window just opened January 17th, they received thousands of applications for the spots they have (which I think is around 75?) and that I might want to apply again next year.

I will persevere. I called Patricia Polacco on Oct. 1 at 8 a.m for more than five years to try to secure an author visit for our schools. I can certainly apply multiple years to get to pay money to travel and learn from the eminent institution of teachers of reading and writing.

For now, I guess I’ll just have to be happy buying her newest book and hoping that some blogger out there will post their notes about all the great learning they do. 

There is always the window for summer Institutes that open next month.  You can bet that’s on my to-do list. Who wouldn’t want to spend a week in New York City in classes for a week during the summer? I know I do!

 

3 Responses to “Teachers College of Reading and Writing Project”

  1. thereadingzone Says:

    Oh, me too! I am dying to go to the summer institutes, but just can’t afford it.

    Sarah

  2. I have had the same dream…can’t figure out how to make the jump with three little boys. I am crossing my fingers for you!!! Keep us posted!

  3. stella Says:

    I know exactly what you mean!!! I have been dreaming about this since I came to the States. Every year I think”may be next summer I can afford it”…but don’t you think it’s worth every penny though? *sigh*


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers