Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Can’t beat time in a bookstore with friends June 5, 2009

One of the last events I managed before becoming a house-selling fanatic, was a trip to my favorite book store Cover to Cover with two of my fourth grade colleagues.  Neither had been there before ( I love taking newbies!) and both had some end of the year money to spend on their classroom libraries (Can there be any better type of money to spend?). A combination that can’t be beat in my mind, especially when followed by lunch at Northstar Cafe.  

One of our goals was to find poetry books to boost their classroom library (there are two of the teachers I wrote about in the poetry unit). We picked up:

  • Georgia Heard’s vertical book Falling Down the Page
  • Oh Brother by Nikki Grimes
  • Been to Yesterdays- by Lee Bennett Hopkins
  • Wonderful Words: Poems about Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking by Lee Bennett Hopkins Falling down the page
  • City I Love by Lee Bennett Hopkins
  • A Kick in the Head-An Everyday Guide to Poetic Forms by Paul Janeczko
  • The World’s Greatest Poems by J. Patrick Lewis 
  • Dinothesaurus by Douglas Florian 

Another was to find picture books to supplement their science and social studies topics. I have to say we successfully did both after many fun hours looking through books and exclaiming over finds to each other.  

I also had the privilege of selecting books that will be given to teachers as part of our August Writing Institute.  I’ll include a list of titles I picked up within the next week. 

I’m sitting in my beautiful backyard writing this post, enjoying the things I love most about it back here-dogs sleeping on cool bricks at my feet, luscious red strawberries growing in raised beds, kids swinging high enough to touch the clouds, a breeze blows the leaves of the surrounding trees and woods, music from the televsision show Grey’s Anatomy plays in the background, and a cold beverage drips a ring on the table.   I realize that I have missed the reflective component of blogging over the last couple weeks. It forces me to slow down and think about how the day, week, book, etc. and I haven’t slowed down enough to read or blog since entering house mania. Now that the main preparation sprint is winding down, I hope to be back to blogging almost every day.

Next week holds a curriculum mapping week of planning using Primary Units of Study by Lucy Calkins, Talking, Drawing and Writing by Horn and Giacobbe, and Reading With Meaning by Debbie Miller to plan out next year. Should be pretty fun stuff! Then a couple weeks off before heading to Teachers College (TCRWP) Reading Institute July 6th-10th.

 

4 Responses to “Can’t beat time in a bookstore with friends”

  1. C Tenebrini Says:

    Love your blog- follow it in my google reader. Growing Readers is by Kathy Collins, I believe. Though, I can see why you put Debbie Miller there, as she has similar work!

    I too will be at the Reading Institute this summer. Know you have a fan amongst the many there!

    • bestbookihavenotread Says:

      Hi C
      Oops-corrected Debbie Miller/Kathy Collins confusion on post. I got my confirmation by e-mail that I will be in the 3-8 section of the Reading Institute. I’m really looking forward to it and am trying to decide my strategy for being as prepared to learn as much as I can.

  2. lee bennett hopkins Says:

    from LEE BENNETT HOPKINS

  3. lee bennett hopkins Says:

    FROM LEE BENNETT HOPKINS

    How please I am that you selected three of my books. I would
    love to hear your reactions to BEEN TO YESTERDAYS: POEMS
    OF A LIFE (Boyds Mills Press)…a book that has touched so many lives — moreso today than ever before.

    Thank you.

    Lee


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,317 other followers