Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Cynthia Rylant June 17, 2009

Filed under: authors — bestbookihavenotread @ 5:55 am
Tags: , ,

I will start by admitting my bias for anything Cynthia Rylant.  I’m not sure when my love affair with her books first came into bloom, but I think it might have beengive me grace with The Relatives Came in 1986.  I think she is brilliant. I love everything from God went to Beauty School to Henry and Mudge, and everything in-between. I believe every family needs the sweet volume Give Me Grace: A Child’s Daybook of Prayers and every classroom needs In November.  

I LOVE Poppelton and his cast of merry animal friends. I love the short stories of Every Living Thing-the stories are so great to use with older students. I love Mr.Tulip Sees Putter, Annie & Snowball. I LOVE Silver Packages-such a poignant true story highlighted with Chris Soentpiet beautiful illustrations. I LOVE Tulip Sees America. Who doesn’t love When I Was Young in the Mountains?

Now I am not Katie Wood Ray, and can not recite her books from heart, but I sure wish I could!

Didn’t love the redo of Cinderella or Hansel and Gretel, but that was due to illustration style, not the language or story. I LOVE Van Gogh Cafe and have given Heavenly Village to several friends who work with teens.

the relatives cameI do have an autographed copy of The Relatives Came-I always started my reading and writing workshop school year with that book . I think I’m lucky enough to have that autograph because she presented at a Children’s Literature Workshop at Miami University (my old stomping ground) one of my first years teaching (Back when Children’s Literature Conferences were more common-boy I miss the one at OSU). I have a vague memory of driving back to Miami because she was going to be a presenter. She is much more elusive than many authors or illustrators-I wonder if anyone has been fortunate enough to have a school visit from her? She’s such a prolific writer, she probably doesn’t have time for school visits, but boy would that be great!

 

3 Responses to “Cynthia Rylant”

  1. rlgibson Says:

    I love Cynthia Rylant too and thanks for mentioned The Van Gogh Cafe. I love this one and think it is one of her more overlooked books. I think the relationships are what she gets so perfectly *right.* She is so good at capturing moments — like in Henry and Mudge and the Starry Night. Or with Mr. Putter and Tabby. And on and on it goes . . . .

  2. Karen Says:

    YEARS ago, when I first came to Dublin, Cynthia Rylant was our visiting author. She has written many more books since then!

    • bestbookihavenotread Says:

      I can’t even imagine being able to have her as an author visit-she walks on water with Patricia Polacco for me!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,319 other followers