Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Umbrella Summer by Lisa Graff August 24, 2009

Filed under: book reviews — bestbookihavenotread @ 7:19 pm
Tags: ,

umbrealla summerThere’s a reason I don’t read Jodi Picoult. It involves the size of my eyelids the morning after I read one of her books. HUGELY PUFFY! Something happened when I had child number two-I can’t cry over a sad movie, show, or book right before bed without waking the next morning looking like my eyelids have been stung by bees. It’s not pretty.

This morning-puffy, swollen, bee-stung eyelids. Umbrella Summer by Lisa Graff caused me to do some serious de-puffing this morning, but I loved this book! Sad books don’t always make great read-alouds, but I do believe that the conversations you could have make this a good consideration for a read-aloud. I don’t want to say anything else about the sadness, but boy is this a great book! The power of community to help a person heal-what a great message!

The main character Annie, is a girl I can relate to-she worries about everything! Bike safety, dangerous diseases, and more. She worries so much she has given up many of her favorite things to do, like racing on her bike with her best friend. Too dangerous. Now even though I can relate to Annie and her worries, the reason behind our compulsive worrying is not similar. We won’t go into my issues, but Annie feels she needs to do enough worrying to keep herself and her family safe. Through her friendship with an elderly, new, next-door neighbor, the reading of Charlotte’s Web (love books that reference other books!), and a few mishaps along the way, Annie learns that worrying isn’t as necessary or all-consuming as she was letting be.

I’m so happy I loved this book, which sounds like a silly thing to say, but it bothered me that I did not like Bernetta Wallflower when so many other people have liked it.  In my opinion it will become a kid’s classic in the same vein as The Bridge to Terabithia.

Other Reviews:

A Year of Reading

Literate Lives

 

4 Responses to “Umbrella Summer by Lisa Graff”

  1. Agreed! And I didn’t really like Bernetta either. I thought what they did was too over the top. But Umbrella Summer was perfect.

  2. Ms Yingling Says:

    If you want to spend more time depuffing, read Efaw’s After, about a teen who abandons her baby. I will have to look up Umbrella Summer and will be prepared with tissues!

  3. bob is awesome Says:

    It is an awesome book that I read for a book project, but extremely sad for me:(

  4. Clementine Says:

    It was soo good I couldn’t put it down

    Looooovvvvvveeedddd it


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers