Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Reading Workshop explained by Nancie Atwell. The New York Times article still is producing strong reactions! September 16, 2009

Filed under: reading workshop,student choice — bestbookihavenotread @ 7:08 am
Tags: , ,

The New York Times article I posted earlier this month is still causing quite the stir (433 comments and counting). In my Inbox yesterday was an e-mail Heinemann sent out letting educators know that there is a video rebuttal by Nancy Atwell.

Check out Heinemann’s Teacher Lounge and read what top authors have to say about students and book choice including Shelley Harwayne, Harvey Daniels, and Regie Routman.

You also MUST watch Nancie Atwell’s video on the homepage of Heinemann.  The video is on the top right-hand corner. I wish I could embed it, but haven’t been able to figure out how to do that. It’s about 5 minutes, but so worth hearing what this expert has to say. She does it so well.

Myths addressed:

#7 Reading Workshop only works with certain types of students

#6 Students who choose their own literature are deprived of opportunities to discuss literature.

# 5 Adults who are literary, habitual readers got that way by reading the classics as kids.

# 4 Students actually read the classics their English teachers assign.

# 3 The classroom is a place for the classics only–students can read popular literature on their own

# 2 A goal of creating habitual, life-long readers is insufficient or a “soft” goal

#1 Choice means anything goes

The timing of this video in proximity to my own excitement about my Book Club picks and meetings, strikes as a little ironic. I am not going to be able to keep my own two cents to myself for long. I agree with everything Atwell says, as well as having my own evidence as both a reader and a teacher of reading.

 

One Response to “Reading Workshop explained by Nancie Atwell. The New York Times article still is producing strong reactions!”

  1. rlgibson Says:

    Did you read Monica Edinger’s post on the article? I’m guessing so, as I know you follow her stuff as well, but it was quite good (as usual).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers