Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Annie Glover is NOT a Tree Lover by Darleen Beard November 17, 2009

Filed under: book reviews — bestbookihavenotread @ 5:22 am
Tags: ,

I have been on a hunt this fall for books that fill that niche for the transitional reader. Ones that aren’t too hard or too babyish. I thought I had found a new winner in Annie Glover is Not a Tree Lover by Darleen Bailey Beard, but unfortunately, I am not a Annie Glover Lover.

Here’s the blurb from Amazon:

“Annie Glover’s grandma is always protesting something, but she goes too far when she chains herself to a century-old tree and names it Elmer. Elmer is scheduled to be cut down to make way for a new swimming-pool complex and Grandma is trying to save him, but Annie wants that swimming pool—and so do all her classmates. Now she must endure all the other fourth graders asking her embarrassing questions and that pesky Leroy Kirk calling her a “tree lover.” However, as Annie considers what Elmer means to her town and to herself, she begins to think that maybe Grandma’s not so crazy after all.”

I would describe this book as one that can be added to a public or school library’s collection that will probably get a fair amount of traffic, but not one to buy for home or a classroom library. I think it will be especially popular at libraries with parents looking for books for their advanced (young) reader without subject matter that is too mature (Fair warning, there are farting Elvises).

Is Leroy Kirk “the type of kid who kept an emergency medical kit in his desk and carried his own travel-size box of Kleenex everywhere he went” (p. 8) or the pesky bully? Trying to have him be both is too much for a character in a 120 page book.

The illustrations are great by Heather Maione.

All I could think about while reading this book is the character Flo from that old TV sitcom Alice. You get the picture.

 

 

5 Responses to “Annie Glover is NOT a Tree Lover by Darleen Beard”

  1. Have you read How Oliver Olson Changed the World? I looked quickly through your book reviews tag and didn’t see it there. I discovered it thanks to a Cybils Easy Reader/Short Chapter nomination. It definitely leans to the transitional side.

  2. Come on, now, Kristine! You really know how to make an author feel bad! I’m so sorry you didn’t like my book and are blogging about it as a best book you did not read. I guess if I were Flo, I’d have to say, “Kiss my grits!” ;)

    • bestbookihavenotread Says:

      Oh I am so sorry :( I was afraid you’d see my opinion. I love authors and books so I am always torn up over saying anything that isn’t glowing. Maybe I should have gone with my mother’s, “If you can’t say anything nice, then don’t say anything at all. I am going to read your other book How Oliver Olson Changed the World with great anticipation. I have to say that I was one of the few who did not like The Life & Crimes of Bernetta Wallflower and have loved Lisa Graff’s other books so there is hope for me yet!

  3. Lisa Collins Says:

    Was hoping to use this book as a girls summer book club read…all the girls are going into 4th grade and there is a range of abilities and motivation.
    Hope it will be a book choice.

  4. Lisa, I do hope you like my book. It has been nominated for many awards and I’m getting good feedback from my editor and readers alike. It just went into its third printing. Let me know how your girls like the book this summer! Happy reading! Darleen Bailey Beard


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,301 other followers