Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Mortal Instrument series: City of Bones, City of ASHES, City of Glass January 6, 2010

Filed under: book reviews,young adult — bestbookihavenotread @ 6:23 pm
Tags: , ,

The Mortal Instruments series

by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

City of Ashes

City of Glass

Margaret McElderry Books, 2007, 2008, 2009

541 pages

I first had City of Bones recommended to me at Teachers College this summer by TC staff developer Mary Ehrenworth. I had seen it on the bookstore shelf before that, but had passed over it due to the heavily inked male torso that makes up much of the cover (not a fan of tattoos).

Even though I was initially put off by the cover, I picked it up when I was in New York this summer. The other book she had been recommending was Hunger Games and I certainly loved that book, so I figure we had to have a similar taste in books.

I immediately started reading City of Bones while I was there, which was not good thing when it came to finishing my assigned reading each evening. Adding to the happy reading experience for me was the New York City setting. I was able to recognize parts of the book in the city. I still would have enjoyed the book without having had a New York City experience, but it would have impacted my reading some.  It made the setting feel more like an old friend, rather than some of the settings in books where I have never been (say LA or London).

The Mortal Instruments will find fans among those who enjoy Percy Jackson books as well as those who enjoy Twilight books. Main character Clary witnesses teenagers Jace, Isabella, and Alex kill another teen, but no one can see the body, or killers, besides her. Clary goes on to find out that the teens are Shadowhunters, humans with powers to track and kill demons. Soon enough, her own mother is kidnapped by demons, and it is the Shadowhunters who come to her aid.

The “human” characters of Clary, her best friend Simon, and surrogate father, Luke are compelling characters, as are Jace, Isabella, and Alec, the “Shadowhunter” characters. A great fantasy story set in “modern-day” New York City, you’ll be happy that all three in the trilogy are already out for your reading pleasure!




 

4 Responses to “Mortal Instrument series: City of Bones, City of ASHES, City of Glass”

  1. Gretchen Says:

    Do you think this series is appropriate for middle school? (6-8) My students are requesting them and I have them on my list to read, but have not had the chance to read them yet… I would love an opinion. The covers do look a bit mature. Thanks!

    • bestbookihavenotread Says:

      I think the books are less racy than Twilight, and many middle school students I know have already read that series. I’ve recommended them to a couple middle school parents for their students.

  2. Hi,

    I followed you over from Tea Cozy because your blog title made me curious, and I have to chime in on this one:

    Hah, yes, I felt the same way about these books– the covers are trying to say “These are DARK and SEXY” which translates in my head as “These are NOT of INTEREST to ME,” but they came recommended by people with good taste so I tried them, and was pleasantly surprised that I not only enjoyed them, I LOVED them! Ah, covers coming near to backfiring on themselves… thank goodness for personal recommendations.

  3. Paige Y. Says:

    I just bought the series for my middle school library but haven’t read it yet. I hope to get it read within the next couple of months.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,301 other followers