Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Middle Grade Fiction New Reads February 16, 2010

Filed under: book reviews — bestbookihavenotread @ 5:00 pm
Tags: , ,

Anything but Typical by Nora Baskin

Simon & Schuster, 2009

208 pages

A Starred Book by Booklist as well as highly regarded by fellow bloggers:

Literate Lives

The Reading Zone

You can’t help but love the main character, Jason, a sixth grader who is diagnosed with autism along with “numerous disorders, most with labels like alphabet soup”. For any teacher who has ever had a student on the autism spectrum, you’ll be reminded of them while reading. I was cringing when reading the part about the substitute librarian who was trying to get Jason to “behave like other kids” and not freak out over someone using “his” computer. It brings back memories of my first interaction with a student, not then diagnosed with autism,  when I was a young(er) teacher. At the time, I could not understand the intensity with which he blatantly ignored my request that he put on his glasses. Why were my normal teacher charms working?

Written from Jason’s point of view, the author really takes you into the mind of Jason and how he views life with “neuro-typicals” ( his family members-brother, mom, dad; his classmates). I enjoyed the clarity he was able to view himself and others with. I also really enjoyed Jason’s on-line writing community. So many students that I’ve worked with on the spectrum have not enjoyed writing or written output. It made me so glad for Jason that he was able to connect with others in a safe forum.

There is a new paperback cover-coming March 2010-I am trying to soft-sell the book to my daughter to help her with her understanding of the many different types of people we encounter in school and life.

 

One Response to “Middle Grade Fiction New Reads”

  1. Robin Says:

    This is on my reading list. Have you read Marcelo in the Real World? Marcelo is also on the autism spectrum. For a little older reader. I think it was truly my favorite book of last year. It was wonderful and I highly recommend it!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,301 other followers