Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

It’s A Book… October 21, 2010

Filed under: book reviews — bestbookihavenotread @ 7:37 pm
Tags:

Well the anticipated “controversy” has started over Lane Smith’s newest book, It’s a Book! (At least I anticipated to myself that it would cause an uproar :)

School Library Journal has a write-up. The comments are longer than the article.

I’m not quite sure what I think about the book. I have it, bought it before I knew it ended with the word Jackass. Thought the illustrations were cute and usually like what Lane Smith has to offer.

I don’t agree that jackass and scrotom are in the same ballpark, but of course, what you think is up to you

 

 

 

3 Responses to “It’s A Book…”

  1. I got this book in the mail. I thought it was HILARIOUS!!! For an adult… I wouldn’t read it to my 5th graders.

  2. --Rick MacDonald Says:

    I read the book and found it perfectly fine for 5th graders. Have you ever sat outside during recess and simply listened to them? Listen to the old country song, “Skip A Rope” and then try to convince me that the word “Jackass” is too strong for these children after what they hear at home and repeat outside of the home.

    • bestbookihavenotread Says:

      While it’s true that many fifth graders are exposed to mature language, I don’t think that many families would appreciate their teacher encouraging the use of language. Of course, everyone is entitled to their own opinion.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,310 other followers