Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

100 Things About Me as a Reader-or at least the beginning of the list October 31, 2010

Filed under: books,reading — bestbookihavenotread @ 9:04 am

Inspired by Franki and Mary Lee over at A Year of Reading, I decided to start my own 100 Things About Me as a Reader list. It will have to be a work in progress, but now is as good a time as any to get started.

1. A reading goal is still motivating to me.

2. I used to keep track of every book title and author I read as a child. I probably shouldn’t admit that I would start copying the list over again if it got messy. What can I say. I wasn’t allowed much tv as a child.

3. The Betsy-Tacy books are ones I could buy over and over again with new covers.

4. I often think about characters or books many years after I have read them.

5. I really don’t enjoy nonfiction unless it’s professional work related.

6. I read every biography in my school and public library more times than I can count, but now can’t think of the last time I read a biography.

7. I dream of going on literary themed vacations. Just typing Betsy & Tacy makes me want to start researching trips to Minnesota to see the homes.

8. My first bedroom had been my father’s study. It was lined from floor to ceiling with books on all walls.

9. My father just finished writing his first book. It grew out of his research that he did back when I was in that nursery.

10. There is something so cozy about reading aloud to my son, that I used to fall asleep in the middle of the book. He’d wake me up when I started reading nonsense.

11. I love audiobooks because it feels like I’m sneaking a quick reading break in when there is no time for quick reading breaks.

12. I’m trying to figure out how I can reread Harry Potter #7 before the movie comes out. I’m not sure I want to see it until I do.

13. My husband and I love many of the same books, but there are others that each of us read that the other can’t even stand to think about reading.

14. I love nothing more than helping a child find a book to read that they love. There’s no better thrill in the world.

15.

12.

 

One Response to “100 Things About Me as a Reader-or at least the beginning of the list”

  1. I heartily agree re Betsy Tacy and I want to make this list for myself too! And it looks like you might be going to NCTE – if so, I thought you’d want to know that Mitali Perkins will be at the Harper booth signing copies of the newly reissued editions of Emily of Deep Valley for which she provided a new foreword. I hope you two fellow fans can meet! She’ll be there on Fri the 19th at 3:30.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,319 other followers