Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Marty McGuire by Kate Messner July 20, 2011

Filed under: book reviews,books — bestbookihavenotread @ 6:49 pm

Marty McGuire by Kate Messner

May 1, 2011

Good transitional chapter book

The internet, Facebook, Twitter–they are all kind of funny things. On more than one instance, I’ve started talking to someone or thought I knew someone, only to realize that I don’t really “know” them. I only “know” them through Facebook. Or Twitter. Or from standing in line at the same educator conferences.

Marty McGuire by Kate Messner was one of those purchases for me. I book it at Cover to Cover in early June because I recognized the author’s name and therefore assumed I had read lots by her. It wasn’t until I got home and read the About the Author blurb that I realized that while I had read something Kate Messner had written (The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z.) and had another of her books in my classroom library (Fire and Ice), I actually recognized her name from her posts on Twitter. That did give me a little laugh. So Kate, even though we haven’t met at some fabulous autographing event, I think we are already friends and will greet you as such when we do finally meet.

That aside, I’m really happy with Marty McGuire. She’s a great female main character-headed into third grade and not interested in dress-up or girly things like so many of her classmates. She had me with the first line, “That nice Mrs. Kramer lied to me about third grade.” and it just went up from there. Brian Floca’s illustrations also add a great touch to the book. Having had many Veronica Grace’s and Marty’s in my classes, it’s great to see Marty as the main character for a change. Readers will find this new series a nice change from Junie B. Jones, as Marty does not use baby language like Junie B. is prone to.

I’m glad there was no pond close by our school playground or I know many a student who would have had to wear sweatpants from the nurse.

I see this book as one that will fly off the elementary library shelves and be great in second, third, and fourth grade classrooms. Pick one up today!

You can also enjoy listening to the first chapter on the author’s website (link above).

 

4 Responses to “Marty McGuire by Kate Messner”

  1. rlgibson Says:

    I had the good fortune to meet Kate at IRA this year and she is great! I’m enjoying Marty too right now . . .

  2. Mandy Robek Says:

    Thanks for sharing this book. I have a to be third grader and I think tomorrow we will listen to the first chapter as we avoid the heat.

  3. Julie Says:

    Love this book! I got Fire and Ice and The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. which should be arriving on my doorstep tomorrow. :)

  4. Happy blogoversary :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers