Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Tearing through Crossed by Ally Condie December 28, 2011

Filed under: authors,book reviews,books,young adult — bestbookihavenotread @ 2:18 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Even though it did take me quite a while to get into the book, I really liked Matched, the first in the trilogy. I first tried to read it when it came out last year, but petered out during the first six chapters. My daughter then took the book to read and it disappeared into her scary pre-teen bedroom, not to emerge for many months. I then got the book on audio this fall, thinking that might get me past whatever was holding me up.

The audiobook expired before I was done with the book, so I picked up the hardback again.

Read a chapter.

Put it on my to-read stack,

and left it there until last week.

It’s not that it wasn’t good, it certainly got me thinking about a lot of things…the biggest thing being:

“What if no one learned to ‘write’ anymore (print or cursive) because everything was on a keyboard? How easy would it be for your writing to then be monitored? Hmmm….”

Well, I can’t put Crossed down and have almost finished it in the last 24 hours. I love how the chapters alternate between Ky and Cassia. I, of course, love any teacher turned author, such as Ally Condie.

 

2 Responses to “Tearing through Crossed by Ally Condie”

  1. Just recently read Matched, and you’re right, it was a slow start, but a thought-provoking book, nonetheless. I wrote my opinion on my own blog here: http://turnonyourbrain.wordpress.com/ya-literature/

    I should check the rest of your blog before asking, but have you read Gone, by Michael Grant (http://www.amazon.com/Gone-Michael-Grant/dp/0061448761). I’m deeply into this book, and while abnormally violent for a YA book, I can’t stop reading it.

  2. I’m reading matched right now!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,319 other followers