Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

It’s That Time of Year January 3, 2012

Filed under: book reviews,Cybils,Newbery — bestbookihavenotread @ 9:44 pm

It’s the time of year when I try to read every book that is getting serious Newbery buzz and/or Cybil finalists that I haven’t read already. So far, I’ve read The Mostly True Story of Jack by Kelly Barnhill and Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick. I LOVED, LOVED Wonderstruck and REALLY LIKED The Mostly True Story of Jack. I’ve been following some of the blog conversations about whether Wonderstruck can be considered for a Newbery or not. I’m not going to get too worked up about it one or the other, but if the decision is made that Wonderstruck can be a contender, it is pretty darn brilliant. Once again, Selznick knocks it out of the park. I even loved reading the Afterword where he discusses his research process!

The Mostly True Story of Jack is also a really great story. I can imagine it as a great read-aloud or having students who have been really into all the “new” fairy tale shows be enthralled.

I’ve read Okay for Now (loved it-screamed Newbery at me as soon as I started reading it), Small Persons with Wings (disappointed), Inside Out and Back Again (loved it),

Up next: Jefferson’s Sons by Kimberly Bradley (this one just hit my radar this weekend) , The Trouble with May Amelia, A Monster Calls, Breadcrumbs, and Lunch-Box Dream, not necessarily in this order.

 

One Response to “It’s That Time of Year”

  1. I’ve not read Small Persons with Wings. In fact haven’t even heard of it. Whoops! Will have to go check it out. Loved Okay for Now. Have the hardest time at my school getting kiddos excited about historical fic but I keep persevering and little seeds are planted. I need to get Jack for our school collection because I think you’re right … it would be a great read aloud. The copy I read was from the public library.
    I’m currently waiting for a kiddo to return Inside Out and Back Again. Got it for the school but it wasn’t catalogued yet. Then a student came in before the holidays saying (because historical fic is on their minds, it is the book report “genre” for several of them right now) “Do you have a historical fiction book set in my country of Vietnam?” What was I going to tell her, no? That I haven’t had a chance to read it yet? ;]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,317 other followers