Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Ambassador of Young People’s Literature January 7, 2012

Filed under: Ambassador of Young People's Literature — bestbookihavenotread @ 8:30 pm

Ambassador of Young People’s Literature is always an exciting announcement to me. Walter Dean Myers is this year’s ambassador and I love his platform “Reading is not an Option!”. In his School Library Journal there is a great interview. He was quoted as saying “The value of reading has escalated in my lifetime. As a young man, I saw families prosper without reading because there were always sufficient opportunities for willing workers who could follow simple instructions. This is no longer the case. Children who don’t read are, in the main, destined for lesser lives. I feel a deep sense of responsibility to change this.”

Myers an amazing author who I’ve had the privilege of hearing talk and have him autograph books.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Ambassador of Young People’s Literature”

  1. Dorine White Says:

    Wow, I feel that should be a bumper sticker. Read!

  2. JenFW Says:

    I’m eager to see how Myers uses his platform. May he be hugely successful! In his role as Ambassador and pushing “Reading is not an option,” that is. He’s already hugely successful as an author, of course.

  3. My kids and I read his book HARLEM SUMMER not long ago (together, aloud). He will be an awesome ambassador!

  4. And non-readers are missing so much! I couldn’t live without books!
    Kathy Cannon Wiechman (Swagger Writers)

  5. Jim Randolph Says:

    I met him too, and he is great. A wonderful choice.

  6. Thank you for introducing me to Walter Dean Myers. Great comments.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,301 other followers