Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

So I’ve Got Some News… February 11, 2012

Filed under: international school — bestbookihavenotread @ 8:39 am
Tags: , ,

I have accepted a new position for next year at the International School of Dakar.

That’s in Senegal.

In West Africa.

(as Director of Curriculum–You probably won’t even pay attention to that part-you’re still back on International School (not Granville) )

or Senegal (Where the heck is that?)

or Africa (Is this a joke? Did someone hack your account?)

Here’s the link to the school.

We are pretty darn excited!

We’ll be Jaguars (as well as Blue Aces) at the school.

It’s a PreSchool-grade 12 campus that allows the kids and I to all be on one campus. The “American style curriculum’ is ‘enriched to reflect the needs and diversity of its international student body and faculty’ and hopes to ‘inspire students to become lifelong learners and responsible global citizens in a rapidly-changing world.”

Oh, and it’s on four acres overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

My son’s biggest concern is whether they have basketball.

Once I got my daughter over the “CNN Effect” (If you go to Africa, you will be killed-either by disease, famine, wild animal, bomb, or machete), she has been on cloud nine. The learning that all of us have done this past month has been amazing.

There is a good video that the staff has put together.

I plan on sharing more as the rest of this year goes by as we get ready to go in August and will have new school stories to share in the next several years.

Stay Tuned.

 

6 Responses to “So I’ve Got Some News…”

  1. Franki Says:

    Wow! This is exciting news:-) (even though we’ll miss you in Central Ohio) What a fun experience for you and for your family. Can’t wait to hear more!

  2. thereadingzone Says:

    Wow! I can’t wait to follow your adventures!! :)
    sarah

  3. So excited for the whole family! What a great opportunity! (and I love the Eleanor Roosevelt quote :) )

  4. Mary Lee Says:

    Add my WOW to the pile! Good for you! Good for your family! How exciting!!!!

  5. Deb Frazier Says:

    Truly an amazing opportunity! I love your quote and live by this myself! It was this belief system that allowed me to live in Japan for 4 years! I have never regretted a minute of it, wish I could do it all over again!
    ENJOY and Embrace your opportunity!
    ~deb


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,317 other followers