Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Beginning of the Year Read Alouds August 16, 2008

Filed under: books,kidlithosphere,school — bestbookihavenotread @ 3:53 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I was asked by some new teachers what books I like to start the year for read-alouds so I thought that would make a good post. I tend to have some old favorites, as well as trying to add new ones to the rotation each year.

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume is a book you can’t go wrong with (unless you are in a school where the whole mom being pregnant-where do babies come from question might do you in). I love the latest version of new covers and like to use it to introduce a favorite character and as a springboard to getting children into reading the other books about Fudge.

One of my favorites the past several years is the The Field Guideby Holly Black and Tony DeTerlizzi, the first Spiderwick Chronicles book. It is a great series for fourth graders (as well as younger and older) and really has pulled some of my reluctant readers off the fence and into “readerdom”!

I also like to read Wayside School is Falling Down or Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar.  Last year I read aloud The Fabled Fourth Graders of Aesop Elementary by Candace Fleming first and noticed many similarities (more on that in a different post) between that new title and the Wayside Stories, that I wanted them to hear both books so that we could discuss them as a class.

 

Leave a Reply

