Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

First Inservice Under my Belt September 3, 2008

Ahh! Five o’clock and home from my first in-service for the elementary school. Blue Moon in an iced glass, bare feet, and fresh shirt. So glad to have the first one done. Our focus for the year is writing instruction based on staff feedback from last year as part of their continuous improvement plan.  The next post is what I sent them ahead of time (although I was up at 3 in the morning trying to decide if I should scrap it and start over again). If they want …, maybe I should just give them… I can do that really well!” , then up again at 4:30 a.m.  counter arguing the 3 a.m. argument)

On a similar, yet completely different note, If you have never seen Beth Newingham’s website in Michigan, you should check it out. She has recently had a baby and is job sharing (how many of us are jealous that her district is smart enough to know a good thing when they have it). She has amazing and useful photos and ideas. Reading and writing workshop mini lessons are great. She also does a star student and mystery reader program that I used a version of last year with great success!

 

One Response to “First Inservice Under my Belt”

  1. Congratulations! And thanks for sharing the link.

    ~Melissa 🙂
    http://www.melissamorris.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

