Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Life As We Knew It September 20, 2008

Filed under: books,kidlithosphere — bestbookihavenotread @ 8:36 pm
Tags: ,

The past week of no electricity and school cancellations brought to mind the book Life As We Knew Itby Susan Beth Pfeffer. If you haven’t read it, you really should. The main event that impacts (ha-ha) the rest of the book is an asteroid hitting the moon. The main character Miranda is in high school and the upcoming collision of asteroid and moon is really no big deal in her day-to-day life. It is forecasted to be a small impact, interesting to watch, kind of like a falling star or a visible comet, but nothing life changing. When the asteroid hits the moon, its obvious immediately that the impact has much larger than expected-the power goes out immediately and the importance of the moon in relation to Earth unfolds. The tides change-tsunamis, earthquakesand volcanoes. People start hoarding and diseases flourish.

As I was driving home during the wind storm and I had already seen several large trees down and the power outage, I was very surprised to see that the grocery store in town had immediately closed. No ability to obtain ice or water locally became a problem very quickly for many in this area.

When I first saw a review for this book I was first struck by, “Is that the same author I read in junior high?”. The answer is yes it is. I think this was her seventy-fifth book to be published, and no, I haven’t read them all.  I remember liking her in my youth, but it’s nothing compared to how this particular book has left an impression on me. I dont’ really like thinking about “what-if” scenarios when it comes to emergency preparedness, but this past week (and the book) has shown me that I was extremely lacking. Yeah I still kept lots of D batteries on hand (a remnant of my inability to get them during the Ice Storm of 2003) and had some large jugs of water in the basement “just in case”, but that really did not get my family very far.

With this book as well as Animal, Vegetable, Miracle fresh on my mind during planting season this past spring, I did add some additional items to our small family garden plot, but still…I think I need to take some time to think what would have been essential to have at home if we had been unable to get out of the neighborhood. Hmmm…

 

Leave a Reply

