Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Goodnight Goon! A Petrifying Parody September 30, 2008

Filed under: books,picture books,read alouds,school — bestbookihavenotread @ 8:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

 

Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown was one of my children’s all time favorite books to have read to them when they were little. I have to admit, I liked it almost as much as they did and can still recite the thing from memory! We also loved the sequel to Goodnight Moon, My World. There’s just something about that little bunny!

I was really tickled to find Goodnight Goon at Cover to Cover when I was there last week with the Central Ohio KidLit Bloggers. Not only do the words parody the original story, but the illustrations do as well.

“In the cold gray tomb

There was a gravestone

And a black lagoon

And a picture of__”

Instead of a cute little bunny in his bed with his watchful mother nearby, there is a little werewolf tucked in his bed with his daddy werewolf making a voodoo doll nearby. I can just imagine the fun I am going to have reading this aloud, not just to my children, but to all the classes I come in contact with over the upcoming month! I think children will love examining all the details in the illustrations and that this “petrifying parody” will inspire a lot of readers to go dust off their old copy of Goodnight Moon and read it with a whole new appreciation! 

 


 

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers