Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Lemony Snicket autographing November 7, 2008

Filed under: autographing,Uncategorized — bestbookihavenotread @ 2:30 am
Tags: ,

maggie-simon-snicket

 

Needless to say, my daughter found Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler) very funny! He was at Cover to Cover for a book signing, while on tour promoting his newest book The Lump of Coal.  Initially I was a little disappointed that he was not going to do a short presentation, but he certainly made up for it by keeping up an almost non-stop banter with the children in line.  He started by apologizing that the author Lemony Snicket did not make it to the store and was “in character” of Lemony Snicket for the entire time. He not only made funny comments to the children that had them all giggling, but he also had several asides that the parents found very amusing. “Canada and the United States are very similar, but United States does not care about sick people”, etc.  He attempted to get children to select anything besides his books-ranging from post-it notes to the Sesame Street Elmo Dictionary.  

My children, a book-loving friend and her son, and I all had a very enjoyable Lemony Snicket encounter!

 

2 Responses to “Lemony Snicket autographing”

  1. I missed him!!! I had friends that loved meeting him. I too heard he was very funny!!

  2. Karen Says:

    I’m so sorry I missed this. I have a student in the middle of reading the entire Unfortunate Events series. What a great thing it would have been for her to meet Lemony Snicket! Darn it!!

    glad to hear your daughter enjoyed meeting him!


Leave a Reply

