Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

SSCO Children’s Literature Review November 14, 2008

Filed under: books,school — bestbookihavenotread @ 3:53 am
Tags:

Somehow I have not heard of this event before this year, but the School Study Council of Ohio (SSCO) offers an opportunity to go and review, and then keep, new books. This year they had almost all picture books and over the hour and fifteen minutes I was there, I reviewed fifteen books (using the form they provided-it had everything from quality of illustrations, to how would you use it in a classroom or library). It starts almost like the news footage of the Bridal Dress sale at Filene’s Basement, where teachers (or librarians) arrive early and browse to get the best seat for prime book snatching!

I was happy my district allowed me to take two teachers with me and we were all newbies to the experience. Not being very aggressive, we just moseyed our way up when we were allowed to start and selected five (per instructions) to start with. Having been to a new book review recently, I recognized several titles/authors and was very excited with my first five books. I got bees, snails, and peacock tails by Franco and Jenkins, Steel Town by Jonah Winter, The Lost-and-Found Tooth by Louise Borden, I’m Bad! by Kate & Jim McMullan, and Be Gentle with the Dog, Dear! by Matthew Baek.  
My colleague was excited to see Splat the Cat as one of the books and snatched that right up. Also in her stack was a picture book that might win the award for strangest topic ever. The book looked promising. It had a very cute dog on the front and a title that didn’t give any clues as to the content. It starts out fine, but half-way through, you find the dog “looking in his sac for his familiars”! It’s a book about a dog getting fixed, from the dog’s point of view! Wow! How would you use the book in your classroom? You wouldn’t!

It was a great event and well worth the commute and time! Thanks SSCO for the opportunity!

 

Leave a Reply

