Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Barack Obama: Son of Promises, Child of Hope November 16, 2008

Filed under: books,KidLit,kidlitosphere,read alouds,school — bestbookihavenotread @ 9:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

barak-obamaA dear friend gave this book to me the Thursday after the election. I am always thrilled to be given a book as a gift, but this book was especially meaningful. My friend Carol, a “retired” literacy guru had worked many hours for the Obama Ohio campaign. 

My children spotted the book as soon as I came home with it and asked me to read it to them. I have to say, it felt pretty special to be curled up with my children on the couch and reading about our president-elect. My youngest child had hardly been able to sleep election night as he just had to know who “won”.

The illustrations by Bryan Collier are beautiful and the overlapping story of young African American boy along with Obama’s story really held my children’s interest. I particularly liked how Hope is treated as a main player in the story. 

Hope hummed deep inside of him.

Someday, son.

Someday.

 

“Hold tight,” said Hope.

 

He searched for courage inside himself.

Hope was waiting there.

 

I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m feeling pretty hopeful!

 

2 Responses to “Barack Obama: Son of Promises, Child of Hope”

  1. Mary Lee Says:

    It sure feels good to be hopeful again, doesn’t it?

  2. […] this book with Barak Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope and  teachers and parents will have more than a week’s worth of important conversations […]


Leave a Reply

