Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

What’s Your Favorite Childhood Book? January 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bestbookihavenotread @ 1:10 pm
Tags: , ,

I have several, but one that I had my parents read to me until it was falling apart was The Fourteen Bears in Summer and Winter by Evelyn Scott, illustrated by Virginia Parsons.  I just recently begged my mother to see if she could find it and was THRILLED when she did!

61047g33cbl_sl500_aa240_I loved that each of the cubs had their own house in a tree and that

“All the trees looked different inside.

One had plump chairs with fringe.

One had a velvet couch.

One had furniture with painted flowers.

One had a modern couch.

This one had a braided rug.

And this one had a Chinese screen.  

This bear’s house had a kitchen fireplace.

This bear’s house had a marble mantle.

And this bear’s house had a red tile floor.

This bear’s house was like a castle.

And this one was small and cozy.

Each bear had a separate tree house, except Little Theodore, because he was so little. He stayed with his mommy and daddy.  

I was fascinated by the idea of youngsters having their own special house and would fantasize for hours what my house in a tree would be like. 

I was endlessly bothered by the fact that there was no sequel of Fourteen Bears Spring and Autumn.  This book was begging for a companion!

What was your favorite childhood book? Post yours and link here!

 

2 Responses to “What’s Your Favorite Childhood Book?”

  1. Karen Says:

    Not a young age book, but I loved Little Women!!

  2. bestbookihavenotread Says:

    I loved that one too! I had a couple Madame Alexander dolls from Little Women that I adored.


Leave a Reply

