Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

March On! The Day My Brother Martin Changed The World! January 19, 2009

I live in a community where there is not as much diversity as you find in the rest of the world.  One of the ways parents and teachers make up for the lack of diversity, is by sharing great books with their children and students.  

513giuxnwfl_bo2204203200_pisitb-sticker-arrow-clicktopright35-76_aa240_sh20_ou01_March On! The Day My Brother Martin Changed The World! by Christine King Farris and illustrated by London Ladd is a new picture book that I hope will be added to collections across the United States this year.  The beautiful illustrations help illuminate events leading up to Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream Speech” that culminated after the March on Washington D.C. Readers will have help connecting pieces of Civil Rights history that they might have learned in isolation through this book and will also have the opportunity to learn new information, such as the name of the singer who took the stage before MLK Jr. began his famous speech.  

Pair this book with Barak Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope and  teachers and parents will have more than a week’s worth of important conversations with their children. Use them as springboard and you are exposing a new generation to a whole new world of possibilities.

 

2 Responses to “March On! The Day My Brother Martin Changed The World!”

  1. Katie Says:

    Will definitely add this one to my list of MLK Day books! Thanks for sharing – I wasn’t familiar with it!

  2. Katie Says:

    Wasn’t familiar with this MLK book, but I’ll definitely be adding it to my list!


Leave a Reply

