Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Sometimes It’s Hard to Figure Out What is Good for Ourselves April 2, 2009

Filed under: book clubs — bestbookihavenotread @ 4:59 pm
Tags: ,

This week I made my daughter do something that I knew she would not want to do if she was given the choice. Her lack of choice resulted in a great experience for her and she described it as “great fun”.  That thing was a book club with some other kids her age that my friend Robin put together.  It wasn’t that she doesn’t love books (FINALLY!!), it was based on being uncomfortable with the idea of not knowing the other kids. I, on the other hand, wanted her to participate for several reasons. 1-Robin is a children’s librarian who currently is not working in a library. She loves books as much as I do (we’d probably argue over who loved them more). 2-I want my daughter to learn that reading or books are a great way to meet new people or have conversations that you might get to experience otherwise. 3-I believed she would have a great time and that it would giver her a needed boost to her self-esteem to be in a book club with someone she considers “really smart”.  

One possible moral of the story-sometimes kids don’t know what is good for them (but then neither do I sometimes 🙂

The kids have selected Calder Games for next month by Blue Balliet. My daughter picked Carl Hiassen for “her” hosting month.

 

One Response to “Sometimes It’s Hard to Figure Out What is Good for Ourselves”

  1. Robin Gibson Says:

    Hi Kristine,

    I hope you and Maggie had as much fun as I did yesterday. I LOVED hearing the kids talk about books . . . and Maggie was a joy. When you all left, I was just thinking, “it’s over already?!”

    As far as who loves books more, I don’t know how to measure that! I’m just so glad to have found someone who loves books and reading as much as I do and also feels so strongly about connecting books and children. This is going to be fun to share with our children and our yet to be named book club!


Leave a Reply

