Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Graceling by Kristen Cashore a great YA fantasy addition April 28, 2009

Filed under: book reviews,books,school,young adult — bestbookihavenotread @ 4:34 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time saying no to a former student who comes waving a book at me, insisting, “You’ve got to read this! It’s a great book!” If that wasn’t enough, he then persists in finding me a couple days later asking, “Have you finished it yet?”, astonishment on his face when I have to tell him, “Not yet.” Several more days go past and he’s back finding me again to ask, “You are done now aren’t you?” 

“I was half-way through Scat when you gave it to me.”
“I don’t have as much time to read as I would like.”
“It’s great and I love it, but there’s a lot going on right now.”

Well thanks to my son’s unfortunate ear infection last week, I was able to find that sixth grade yesterday to return his book. Whew!
Graceling is a wonderful first novel by Kristen Cashore!. The main character Katsa is a gutsy, determined and fierce female fighter who has been able to kill men with her bare hands since she was child. The title of the book references special people like Katsa who are born with “graces”, or special talents, and two differently colored eyes. In Katsa’s case, she has one blue and one green, while Po, another important character has one gold and one silver. 

Some Gracelings have pretty ordinary powers, and some Graces are not quite what they first appear to be. In both Katsa’s and Po’s case, their original Grace does not end up being what saves many a life by the end of the book. The action is suspenseful and the notion of a “Grace” is unique enough to really keep the reader guessing.  

I was surprised to find a small romance part to the book, just because it came recommended from a young male student. I decided those parts probably went rightgracelingover his head. 

There has been a lot of great buzz around Graceling and I had planned on reading it over the summer. Not only do I need to thank my former students for asking me to read the book, but now I have to thank him for making me have to wait until October to read Cashore’s second book, Fire. I did get to surprise him with the news of its upcoming publication, which is always fun for me! 

It was such a nice change to have a student following up with me about my reading instead of the other way around. It did help me see that a little encouragement can go a long way when it comes to getting someone to read. I wonder who I should go peddle this book to next? 

Anyone have an ARC of Fire that they’d like me to read and review? Send it my way!

 

Leave a Reply

