Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Tunnels by Brian Williams & Roderick Gordon June 24, 2009

Filed under: book reviews — bestbookihavenotread @ 7:03 am
Tags: ,

tunnelsTunnels by Brian Williams & Roderick Gordon was a great read. I had an ARC of Book Two and certainly wasn’t going to read Book 2-Deeper without having read the first! Tunnels was one of those books that I kept seeing around, but not ever going ahead and making the purchase. During my last trip to Cover to Cover, I picked it up again and was caught by ‘Soon To Be Made Into a Movie’ on the back cover and thought, “That does it. I have got to read this before trailers for a movie come out that RUIN the experience for me”. I’m obviously not a huge fan of books being made into movie for a whole lot of reasons. 

I really enjoyed the characters of Will Burrows, his bumbling father Dr. Burrows, and the rest of Will’s dysfunctional family. His friend Chester made me think, “I hope this is the only Harry Potter similarity”. Fortunately for me, it was. As the story unwinds, other great characters are introduced as well. 

The idea of an underground Colony of people was something that had never crossed my mind before so I really enjoyed how Will’s adventure through the layers introduced new worlds. The idea that humans are “Topsoilers” is a great description of many citizens.  

It wasn’t until I finished the book and started poking around on their website that I became aware that Tunnels was supposed to be the next “Harry Potter” with big royalties for the authors (How do two people write a book together?).  That’s a lot of hype to have to live up to. I’m glad I didn’t know that ahead of time, because it allowed me to read it without that type of critical lens. 

As I was reading, I was quite surprised when I came to Part 2 “The Colony” because I hadn’t anticipated as a reader that that was the direction (ha,ha-not meant to be a play on words) the authors were going. Even though the inside cover starts with “Where the End is Just the Beginning…” the strength of the story kept pulling me along so there were quite a few surprises that in retrospect, I might have been able to pick up more clues as I read.

I’m looking forward to reading Deeper later this summer. If you are a fan of 100 Cupboards or other fantasy books, Tunnels is for you!

 

2 Responses to “Tunnels by Brian Williams & Roderick Gordon”

  1. Bethany Says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I agree with a lot of your sentiments. You can read my review here: http://lessonsfromthehead.blogspot.com/2009/05/just-finished-reading.html

    I enjoy your site. Thanks for all the great recommendations!

  2. Brittanie.B Says:

    thanks for the review could you tell me when it’s sopposed to be made in to a movie beacuse i started to read Tunnels but found it draged ontoo much but then i found out it’s sopposed to be a movie coming out this year and now want to finish it before it comes out


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers