Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

TCRWP continued… July 7, 2009

Filed under: Calkins,reading,TCRWP — bestbookihavenotread @ 9:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

Two days and I have taken so many notes that my thumb is killing me from clutching my pen. 

A friend joked this morning about Lucy Calkins was going to take out a restraining order against me. HaHa. I arrived early to the first session, already having planned and scoped out where I was going to drink my latte and read my book the day before. Arrive happy to not have spilled latte on my white shirt, walk to comfy chair area, and notice that someone else is sitting there already-she looks up and who is it? 

I know you know.

 

But I’ll still tell you.

 

 

It was Lucy Calkins.

 

She was obviously going over her notes for the keynote address so I very casually pivoted past the comfy chair, left her to her privacy, and went and found a hard bench. 

I’m not stalking her-I just channel her energy and it pulls me magnetically to all things TC (just kidding!) . 

 

Homework tonight was to read The Art of Teaching Reading (ATR) Ch. 3, 5, & 6 as well as some handouts. I was glad to I only needed to read the handouts since I had read ATR in the past couple weeks.

Decided to reward/challenge myself to see if I could get myself from Columbia to Central Park and then to Times Square by public transportation (and not get lost!). Probably seems like nothing to many of you, but a BIG deal to me. Found the TKTS booth after a light rambling around and got a ticket to see 9 to 5 the musical. I LOVE musicals and it was a great one!

 

5 Responses to “TCRWP continued…”

  1. Lisa Voelkel Says:

    Will you be able to share any of the handouts through an attachment.? I am very curious to learn more.
    What is the new thinking these days?
    Is Lucy coming out with a new book similar to units of study on Reading?
    Would love to be attending!!!!!!!!!!
    FYI: New writing book that is coming out in late July through IRA-i Can Write Like That(similar to Mentor Text-stenhouse)
    Happy Learning,
    Lisa Voelkel

    • bestbookihavenotread Says:

      We can’t share as attachments since they have big DO NOT DUPLICATE on them, but I will try to do as much summarizing as we can. The only handouts are what they gave us the first day in a binder-in my case a 3-8 First Year Section Summer 09 (88 pages long) and the Curricular Calendar (mine is the grade 3-5 section). I guess in the past you could buy other section materials if you were in attendance, but not this year.

      • bestbookihavenotread Says:

        New Reading Units of Study for Reading grades 3-5 are to be coming out mid-school year. Wish it was sooner!

  2. Sandy Says:

    I just discovered your blog and am thrilled! I was at TC for the Writing Institute last week – so sad not to be there this week. I would love to get any notes you took and would be happy to type mine up in exchange, if you’re interested. I can’t believe I’m missing this week! 😦

    p.s. I completely understand what you mean about being sweaty all day – I had to change my routine and take showers at night – yuck!

  3. Jenifer Says:

    I filled more pages of a spiral notebook in that week then I did in some of my semester long classes in college.


Leave a Reply

