Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

A Week Flies By November 7, 2009

Filed under: book clubs,book reviews,book turned into movie — bestbookihavenotread @ 7:33 am
Tags:

We’ve had three weeks where our landline would not work.

My husband took time off Monday for them to come and fix it.

They didn’t show up.

They had called that morning and left a message on our dead landline. Duh!

They arrive Tuesday night to fix it.

The phone now works.

The internet only does when it feels like it (which is not much!).

Have to wait for another appointment for them to fix it.

While not having access to internet, I’ve reclaimed several hours from e-mail answering and blogging that I’ve spent reading. Not so much kid-lit, but adult book club kind of stuff and YA in preparation for NCTE-ALAN.

I finished up The Elegance of the Hedgehog by  Muriel Barbery. LOVE IT. A definite must read! It kept being recommended by staff developers at TC last summer. They were so right!

I finished Zombie Blondes by Brian James. Don’t ask me why. My daughter did, and all I could come up with was, “Sometimes it’s entertaining to read an easy book that is kind of silly”. On the other hand, I can see tons of middle schoolers devouring it.  It’s definitely one of those YA books that is for YA, not adults who like YA.

I finished listening to City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Also YA. The first in a trilogy. I really enjoyed it, but because I was listening to it on my iPod, it took me longer than I would have preferred to get through it. I must get one of the those doo-hickeys to hook my iPod to my car so I can listen there.

I’m tearing my way through My Life in France by Julia Child and . When my book club picked this book, I really wasn’t sure I was going to read it. There is was at the bookstore Wednesday and I haven’t been able to put it down since! I shouldn’t be surprised that I love it-I do love cooking and lived in Europe myself for half a year. It has me missing those days of teaching at the American International School, grocery shopping at little stands, and trying to figure out how to stay warm in winter (but not to the extreme they had in Paris post-World War II).

 

Leave a Reply

