Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin November 8, 2010

Filed under: book reviews,young adult — bestbookihavenotread @ 5:59 am
Tags: , , ,

Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin

release date September 7, 2010

ARC courtesy of Dial Publishing

young adult

I was first alerted to Extraordinary when I was doing some searches for hot ARCs at ALA 2010. I can’t remember if it was Monica Edinger’s Tweet or blog post at Educating Alice or Liz B at A Chair, A Fireplace, & a Tea Cozy. No matter, I’ve never been steered wrong by either of those women, so it went on my ALA “shopping list”.

Not only did I manage to track down an Advanced Review Copy, but was also fortunate enough to run into the author while I was in someone else’s autograph line. What a kind and gracious person she was. Based on that encounter and the reading of Extraordinary, I have added Werlin’s other books to my reading list.

While the first “chapter” reveals to the reader that part of the story involves Faeries, if one inadvertently skipped it by starting to read “Chapter One”, it would be possible to begin reading thinking that you were going to be reading a realistic fiction book about middle school girls and their friendships. Hopefully when the reader gets to the chapter after Chapter Two, entitled Conversation with the Faerie Queen, 2,they would realize they missed something and go back to the beginning. If the chapter titles weren’t enough clue, there is also ivy that curls up and down the pages that are conversations with the queen.

Extraordinary is a fabulous read that intertwines the friendship of Mallory and Phoebe, with mystery surrounding Phoebe’s family history, and faerie lore. Does that sound like hard things to mix? Well not for Werlin. The three are exquisitely wound in and around each other, resulting in a unique and compelling story.

As a reader, I throughly enjoyed all parts of the story. Seamlessly the story of friendship, mixed with conversations between an unseen queen and her subject, pull the reader along on a fantastic journey.

For a much more detailed review/critique, head on over to The Book Smugglers. They don’t say anything I disagree with, but for me the combination of the friendship, intermixed with faerie, made it a fascinating read for me!

 

 

As often happens, when I went onto Liz ‘s blog, I got distracted by a new post she has. I then got further distracted by reading the comments in reply to her post, which of course led me to other blogs, other posts, and other comments.

That’s how writing a book review ends up taking over an hour!

 

Leave a Reply

