Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

First Trip to Dakar, Senegal March 17, 2012

Filed under: Africa,Dakar,Senegal — bestbookihavenotread @ 7:28 pm

Satellite photo of Dakar

My husband and I are preparing to travel to Dakar, Senegal at the end of the week. We’ve had our shots, have our malaria pills, have packed and repacked our suitcases and now wait with nervous and excited anticipation for the journey to begin. From Ohio, it’s about a fourteen hour trip. That includes a several hour layover in New York before boarding the second flight. From New York or D.C.  to Dakar, the flight is seven or eight hours. I think when most people ask me about the flight, they are expecting a much longer travel time. It’s not that far! You should definietly come and visit in the next couple years.

We will have the opportunity to stay in Dakar for most of the week and I’ll be able to spend several days at the International School of Dakar meeting with the current curriculum coordinator, meet more staff, and orient myself to the important work they have already accomplished in the past several years. I’m also looking forward to just getting the lay of the land and probably making some silly mistakes without the kids there. I’ve been working on brushing off my very rusty French, but I can read it much better than I can speak it.

We are taking the opportunity to spend a couple days south of Dakar in Saly on the Petite Cote coastline. Having not traveled together without children since our honeymoon, we are looking forward to some time just for us. Bandia Park animal reserve is on our itinerary for the week.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Petite Cote

 

Leave a Reply

