Best Book I Have Not Read

Writing, Reading, Teaching, Life, Attempting to Balance it All

What I’m thinking about September 13, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — bestbookihavenotread @ 2:27 pm

What if there was the daily equivalent of motivational personal development for teachers through a technology platform, similar to those that exist for business leaders?

What if there was a daily podcast or video that gave you a motivating uplift on the writer’s workshop lesson you were getting ready to undertake later in the day?

What if there was a daily mentor call that a new (or veteran) teacher could subscribe to and have delivered right to their phone?

It seems crazy that someone can find a plethora of personal development for business people, entrepreneurs, or sales people, yet I have yet to find the equivalent of one for teachers/educators. Is it because the other is for profit and schools are not?

I’m not sure of the answer but I’m pretty sure we need to figure out a way to bridge the resources for business people for teachers. There are some wonderful Twitter chats that happen, such as #tlap or #edchat, but I honestly have a hard time committing to a certain time each week. As much as I’d like to be able to have things be that consistent, the force of children’s schedules has a big impact.

It will probably involve some embarrassment and discomfort but I’m trying to figure out how I can use Periscope or Zoom to get this idea started so then people with big brains can help modify it to be even better.

What do you think?

Intro to Periscope:

http://pikemalltech.com/how-to-use-periscope-for-education/

find me on Periscope @bestbook

 

Leave a comment